July 14, 2024

The Cowboys confirm the departure of five players.
However, one veteran was not on the list.
The North Queensland Cowboys announced the departure of five players during the club’s end-of-season awards.

Tom Gilbert, Connelly Lemuelu, Kane Bradley, Emry Pere, and Morgan McWhirter will leave the club in 2023, with General Manager of Football Michael Luck wishing them the best of luck in their future endeavours.

Gilbert and Lemuelu had already been confirmed as leaving the club, having signed with the Dolphins, the new expansion club.

RELATED: Sea Eagles confirm four departing players by end of 2022.

Bradley, Pere, and McWhirter’s future in the NRL is unclear. Pere is the only player who has made his NRL debut and appeared in two games off the bench for the club in 2020.

All three players are young and have plenty of time to establish themselves as consistent first-grade players if given the opportunity.

SEE ALSO: Raiders announce the departure of six players

Bradley, who previously played for the Wests Tigers, was part of a player swap in 2021 and could return to Sydney.

Interestingly, the club did not bid farewell to prop forward Jordan McLean, who is currently out of contract until 2023.

The Cowboys surprised many in 2022 by finishing third on the ladder, despite many pundits predicting they would be vying for the wooden spoon.

Following the successful season, they were able to re-sign a number of players, including Reuben Cotter (2025), Scott Drinkwater (2027), Mitchell Dunn (2023), Brendan Elliot (2023), Jake Granville (2023), Ben Hampton (2023), Heilum Luki (2025), Jeremiah Nanai (2023), Griffin Neame (2025), and Taniela Sadrugu (2023).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *